SARA Does Skywarn
OXB Special Install
The Joe Simonet WØTBC Memorial Award
SARA Work Party 2
Fitzgerald Crew 2012
2020 S.A.R.A. EXECUTIVE OFFICERS
New Radio Gear For Some SARA Members!
2019 SARA Executive Officers
SARA Work Party 3
Split Rock 2013

SARA Remembers the Edmund Fitzgerald as 45th Anniversary of sinking nears.

The Stillwater Amateur Radio Association (SARA) will be operating to commemorate the sinking of the Edmund Fitzgerald. A multi-national team of amateur radio operators from Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, and Ontario will be on the air this weekend during the 16th Remembering the Edmund Fitzgerald Special Event. Using the club’s call sign, WØJH (on SSB) and WØF (on CW and FT8 & possibly PSK31),  SARA members will operate from home stations this year, due to the  pandemic. This year marks the 45th anniversary of the ship’s mysterious sinking and our sixteenth year of operating this Special Event.

Knowing that the traditional Special Event station operation at Split Rock Lighthouse State Park would be impractical this year, yet realizing that the true intent of the Special Event is to honor and remember the ship and crew, a plan was created to continue the Special Event with operator on air from their home stations. This extraordinary plan continues SARA’s 16-year history of remembering the Fitz. It also allows us to add CW and expand our Digital modes (primarily FT8) to our band/mode plans.

SARA’s Remembering the Edmund Fitzgerald Special Event hits the airwaves about 0800 CST (1400 UTC) Friday Nov 6 and about 0700 CST (1300 UTC) on Saturday Nov 7 and Sunday Nov 8. Stations will be on the air each day until 1759 CST (2359 UTC).

Full frequency and electronic QSL certificate details can be found at  https://www.radioham.org/events/special-events-qsls/ or via the callsigns WØJH or WØF at qrz.com.