SARA Field Day 2011
Split Rock 2013
Kilo Parks Award
OXB Special Install
SARA Work Party 3
SARA Work Party 1
Fitzgerald Crew 2012
SARA Does Skywarn
Release to Listen Award 2013

Joe Simonet WØTBC Memorial Award presented Nov 3rd

On Saturday November 3, in the midst of the 2018 Remembering the Edmund Fitzgerald special event at Split Rock Lighthouse State Park, SARA leaders announced the 2nd recipient of the Joe Simonet WØTBC Memorial Award. Given to a SARA member who best exemplifies the passion and dedication to amateur radio in general and the Stillwater Amateur Radio Association of the “The Big Cheese” Joe WØTBC. The award was established by SARA in 2017, following Joe’s passing in October 2016.

The Award has been presented to Shel Mann NØDRX. The presentation was made by the inaugural recipient Dave Glas WØOXB along with VP Bob Jensen WØGAF and President Joe Heitzinger KCØOIO on Saturday afternoon at the Split Rock Lighthouse State Park Trail Center. Shel was surprised and visibly moved by the award and was unable to say more than a few words of appreciation.

Congratulations, Shel! And my sincerest thanks for all you have done for amateur radio and SARA!
In the photo, L – R: Bob WØGAF, Shel NØDRX & Mary NØDXH, Dave WØOXB, Joe KCØOIO

Photo Credit: John W9LHG